Review: Beneath The Surface by Mike Martin

Rating: Maybe

Genre: Mystery

This is the third book in Martin’s, Winston Windflower mystery series. If you’re interested in what the Indies Gals had to say about the first book in this series the review is here.

The adventures of Windflower’s career with the Royal Canadian Mounted Police continues with a murder and some questionable police activities. Our RCMP, has plenty of problems on his hands and finds himself not only wrapped up in a murder that becomes something much more, but assigned to a human trafficking task force. The mystery aspect snagged my attention real good, and I was anxious to figure out how everything tied together in the end. I have to say my detective skills are pretty good thanks to my healthy obsession with other mystery movies and books.

On the other side we get a continuation of Windflower’s love of food. I was treated to every dining experience the RCMP had during the course of the book and if anything this shows me the author has a similar love for cuisine and trying new things.

Finally props to Martin for giving us a Native American character who explores his roots. I found this part of the story fascinating as well and really enjoyed the diversity Windflower brings to the book. Not through descriptions of his skin, but through talking about his heritage and have an abiding love for it. If you’re a history fan, there’s plenty of Canadian/Native American discussion in this book, which makes me want to do some research of my own.

Now the part that makes this book a maybe. First, while I love the fact Windflower enjoys to experience the pleasures of eating, I tended to get jarred out of the story as Martin took me on a tour of every meal. I wanted the mystery, skip over the pleasant conversations and walks after dinner… give me intrigue and how Windflower is going to crack the case. Second, while Windflowers internal narrative is involved and I felt comfortable with him some of the secondary characters were a little wooden to me. Similar speaking habits, not a lot of diving into them outside of a love for food like our MC.

Overall, if you like mystery combined with a foodie adventure and a love for glorious settings then this would be the book for you.

Snag this Winston Windflower mystery at:

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Kobo

Leave a Reply

