Rogue Hunter Inquest

Genre: Sci-Fi

Rating: Yay!

Rogue Hunter InquestI snaked this book out from the other girls when it came in because I’ve been longing for a good sci-fi story. Sci-fi generally tends to fall into either the hard sci-fi, which also tend to be longer and slower, and space opera, which is almost always tends to be action adventure. Pew pew lasers!

I’m happy to say that Rogue Hunter Inquest falls into the latter. I love a good, deep book, but it’s been a sunny spring in Australia, and I don’t feel like anything too heavy. I just want a good story – and that is exactly what Inquest gives.

We follow bounty hunter Zyra Zanr on a planet that’s ruled by women and for women only (New Venus, if you’re curious). Any man who steps foot on it will die, without exception. And Zyra, who’s in love with a citizen on the planet, decides to risk a promised happy future with Mikaela because she’s wanted off planet, and no amount of hiding will save her from her debts. Granted, I felt like this was a little flimsy, mostly because I felt like there was a whole backstory here that could have helped me understand her train of thought better, I still could accept her reasoning.

The part I found hard to accept was the rest of her reasoning about why she was saving an all-around scumbag from death. It initially felt like she didn’t have a really logical reason, but as the situation unravelled, I felt it was better explained. I think a bit more headspace with Zyra would’ve cleared this up sooner. Part of this might also be because this is a reboot of a previous series. As a new reader, I don’t have an understanding of this world at all, and just a teensy bit more in terms of headspace would’ve given me a well-rounded story.

Still, this story promises one heady conflict, and it delivers. No one is in a position to full trust anyone else, and the execution is just an excuse to force to hand of – well, I don’t want to give too much away, but let’s say there’s a lot of subversive ploys. With a healthy dose of pew pew, my favourite type of sci-fi.

If you want a quick, fun read, I highly recommend this. The on-going series promises to be fun.

Inquest can be found at the following retailers:

Amazon

B&N.com

Kobo

Google Play

Smashwords

Leave a Reply

