Writing to the Stars with Pippa Jay Green

The indies gals would like to welcome back Pippa Jay Green to the Indies Books R Us blog. She’s here today to share her author journey. We last spoke with Pippa when Cate and I reviewed her book Keir. Since then she’s released another delicious sci-fi adventure with more on the way.

I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember, from the day I badgered my dad into showing me how to write out my full name–a long WP_001151winded affair to be sure. As for when the stories started…well, they must have come soon after that. From stories about ponies when I went through that stage of my childhood, to fantasy inspired by The Lord of the Rings and The Dark Crystal, then the shift into scifi after Star Wars: A New Hope hit my TV screen one Christmas. I went from wishing to be a magic-casting, arrow-shooting elf to a lightsaber-wielding, mind-influencing Jedi Knight in the space of a hundred and twenty-one minutes.

But it’s another cult scifi with a very British origin that sparked off my first novel. The story behind my debut Keir started as a Doctor Who adventure waaaay back in the 90’s when I was a teenager and a devoted fan. Now, I have seen a lot of controversy over the writing of ‘fanfic’. Some declare it to be ‘not proper writing’ and a waste of time. Others claim it as a writing release, to be able to free write about favourite characters and explore ideas without having to create whole new worlds and people. Frankly I think writers should be able to express themselves in any way they wish, but back then I’d never even heard the term ‘fanfic’. All I wanted was to be the Doctor’s latest time-travelling, non-screaming companion (as the ‘becoming a Jedi and building an X-wing’ ambition hadn’t worked out for me). So I wrote an adventure called The Shadowshaper over a three week Christmas holiday–featuring a red-haired teenager by the name of Quin–and sent it off. It didn’t get published, but it was the first complete book I’d ever finished, and I had some fantastic feedback from the then publishers of the Doctor Who books. Enough to feel that perhaps I wouldn’t completely be wasting my time to keep writing and submitting.

keir (2)

Real life got in the way after that, but the ideas never stopped coming. One night I dreamt of a broken and beaten man trapped in a dungeon. I woke up with the name Keir in my head. I didn’t know why he was there or what had happened to him, but as I wrote I found all that out. He needed someone to save him, and that someone was Quin, my time-travelling, red-haired heroine. Of course, the Doctor himself doesn’t feature in Keir, but he’s there in spirit. Because if it wasn’t for him, I don’t think Keir would ever have existed.d teenager by the name of Quin–and sent it off. It didn’t get published, but it was the first complete book I’d ever finished, and I had some fantastic feedback from the then publishers of the Doctor Who books.

gethyon_300Enough to feel that perhaps I wouldn’t completely be wasting my time to keep writing and submitting.

As for my first love… My latest scifi novel Gethyon pays a passing tribute to Star Wars in feel, more than Keir did. My hero is a young, troubled would-be adventurer with unknown powers, who has to combat his own divided nature as much as he must master his abilities. If it hadn’t been for those early scifi influences, perhaps I’d be writing fantasy now instead. Maybe I’ll revisit that genre one day…

Keir Pippa  Jay GreenBIO:

A stay-at-home mum of three who spent twelve years working as an Analytical Chemist in a Metals and Minerals laboratory, Pippa Jay bases her stories on a lifetime addiction to science-fiction books and films. Somewhere along the line a touch of romance crept into her work and refused to leave. In between torturing her plethora of characters, she spends the odd free moments trying to learn guitar, indulging in freestyle street dance and drinking high-caffeine coffee. Although happily settled in historical Colchester in the UK with her husband of 20 years, she continues to roam the rest of the Universe in her head.

Pippa Jay is a dedicated member of the SFR Brigade, a community of science fiction

Leave a Reply

