Author Interview: HS Stone

InTheHandsOfChildrenToday I’m delighted to have In the Hands of Children author HS Stone join me for a little one-on-one. After reading his book, I had a few questions.

Even before he could read, H.S. Stone wanted to write a book. Fascinated by the stories that seemed to leap from his kindergarten teacher’s books, he went home and wrote his own book, with illustrations and bound by staples. Of course, since he didn’t know how to read or write yet, the book was full of gibberish. Undaunted, H.S. eventually mastered the ABC’s and continued to write throughout his grade school years, adolescence, and into adulthood. Despite getting a degree and working in a field not related to writing, he continued to pursue his writing passion. Numbers Plus Four, a collection of short stories, was H.S. Stone’s first publication. He followed that with his first novel, George and the Galactic Games, and two additional books. H.S. Stone lives with his family in the San Francisco Bay Area.

 

What prompted the idea for In the Hands of Children? It seems like tough subject matter to tackle.
Like with many stories I write, the original idea from which this story sprung was different from how it eventually turned out. My inspiration for writing the story came from my concerns about how much we rely on technology today and how specialized everyone’s knowledge is. We live in a society that relies on other people to provide most of the things we need – even food and electricity. And God forbid if the Internet ever went down! I wanted to explore what it might be like if the people who have the knowledge to run the world were suddenly gone, and those who survive have to re-learn how to live with what’s left behind.

I really appreciated Kyle’s character, and actually he might’ve been my favorite (though I loved Amy quite a bit, too). Did you intend for him to be a heroic character, or was that something that came out through the writing?

I’m a sucker for heroes who save the day and happy endings in stories, so Kyle was always going to be a hero in my mind. He’s also the type of hero that I enjoy reading about — one who doesn’t know that he is and never intended to be a hero but becomes one because something inside drives him to do good when the situation demands it.

Hannah is a fantastic character, very strong and protective of her little sister. What went through your mind as you were writing her part of the story?

I have two kids of my own, and when I wrote about Hannah and Amy, I tried to imagine what it would be like for them if my wife and I succumbed to a pandemic and left them alone. It’s a horrible thought and a scenario that I hope never occurs, but some of the things that Hannah did for Amy are what I hope my son would do to protect his sister.

Your book has kind of a cinematic feel to it. Is that an aspect of your writing, or did that come through the story itself?

That’s an interesting question. Certainly, the story itself lends a cinematic quality in the way that it was told, but I’m not sure if that’s also part of my natural writing style. It’s not something I consciously decided to do. Now I’ll have to keep an eye out for it in my other books!

What can you tell us about future plans?

Since In the Hands of Children, I published my third book, Beyond New Eden. I’m currently working on my fourth novel, which is an as yet untitled YA sci-fi twist on alien invasions. I’ve always wanted to write an alien invasion story, and I hope this one will be different from any you’ve read or seen in movies before. The plan is to release the book by January of 2014.
Sounds fantastic!
In the Hands of Children is available at
Amazon
Smashwords
Leave a Reply

