Author Interview – Micki Street

micki streetToday I’m excited to have Before the Daisies Grow author Micki Street in the hot seat, talking about her Glamour Grans and what the future holds for this fun-loving trio in her first-ever interview!
I have to ask. What made you decide to write this story? I don’t see many stories about 60-something-year-old women these days.
My characters are similar to three of my very close friends, who each live in a different African country.  It was on Boxing Day evening  – after a luncheon celebration at friends, we arrived home full of the joys of the festive season. I was in the kitchen making the much needed coffee for everyone when my dear sixty-seven year old friend splayed her beautiful manicured hands and said, “I had the most amazing sex with…” I’ll call him Bob Wishes! I dropped the kettle – it smashed onto the floor. You see, Bob Wishes was fifty-two years old and I’d never thought of him as a ‘stud’. This is how Dotty Crowdy came to life.
Is Brazzina culture and society based on a culture you’re familiar with or did you do some investigative research?
Up until a few months ago, I lived in Africa – I now live in the Philippines. I was born in Rhodesia, now Zimbabwe and lived most of my life in Malawi ex Nyasaland. My career path for many years was in the Malawi tourism industry – promoting this beautiful country. So yes, Brazzina became a country of my imagination and based on my experience of living in Africa.
What was the most challenging part of writing this book?
You know I actually loved writing this book. The challenging part was writing a query letter to Agents which earned me many rejections! Then I found out about self-publishing and haven’t looked back.
Did you have a favorite Glamour Gran? (We won’t tell them. Don’t worry.)

No I don’t. I love all three. They are such good sports although they do ridiculous things at times, especially Dotty.  Nora can be stubborn and naive. Wilma just goes with the flow.

What can you tell us about future projects?

The sequel to Capers of Glamour Grans is nearing completion. It’s titled ‘Sixty in the Shade’. Of course Dotty is up to all sorts again. Since I started writing the sequel, I got sidetracked, and wrote Grace the Maid which is set in Johannesburg, South Africa. This is being edited at the moment – I have a very patient editor who pulls her hair out. –  However, this book should be out at the end of May. The third book on the Glamour Grans has been penned– this story will take place in Malawi. I have to admit there are quite a few stories still inside my head.
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for this interview and to also thank my friends and readers who have bought Before the Daisies Grow. You are all appreciated.

And we would like to thank Micki for joining us!!!

About Micki:

Micki Street lives in Lilongwe, Malawi with her husband, her German Shepherd and two crazy cats. Her three daughters fled the nest years ago, all married and delivered her four amazing grandsons, now aged between 6 and 21 years. After her career in tourism, Micki briefly transferred her creativity to chilli farming in Mozambique. Not a ‘hot’ person, her friends surprisingly submitted as guinea pigs for her chilli concoctions – none, thankfully, resorted to the ER. A couple of years on, Micki began a novel evoking her travel experiences: her publication debut, Before the Daisies Grow, follows the capers of three vigorous English grandmothers who travel into the unknown. The sequel, which will be available toward the end of 2012, continues with the Grannies’ holiday farce. Micki has also written Seduced by Deceit, currently in the editing process. Yet the bulk of her writing to date is humorous: Grace My Maid, a jestful work in progress that portrays a segment of suburban Johannesburg; Marmaduke the Jewel Thief; and The Travel Writer Conman.

Before the Daisies Grow is available at Amazon.

 

Leave a Reply

