Review: The Gifted

Genre: New Adult/Urban Fantasy

Rating: Yay

I haven’t been gorging myself on Urban Fantasy recently, and thankfully The Gifted was the perfect novel to ease me back into the foray.

Liz Long creates an interesting scenario for those with abilities: The Circus. The perfect environment to hide firestarters, super strong men, and real life healers, Donovan Circus becomes a haven for all those with special talents. Here they’re not freaks, they’re stars. For Lucy Donovan it’s a place to belong, and she wants to belong to something so bad. The heroine has a past that’s pretty much delivered upfront, but with a few sprinkles of additional info added throughout the story.

There’s a large ensemble of characters, but Long stays in first person POV so there’s no head hopping. I’ll admit I’m not a fan of this style of writing, but it worked. Long did a fabulous job of relating the different characters through Lucy’s eyes, while feeding me just enough back story on each to engage my feelings. I was part of the group. Plus, there’s a creepy villain and I love my creepy villains.

Now to the length, this story was long. A bit more then I’d hoped for actually.  My only complaint is that the story did drag for me at times. The action sequences were fine tuned and the dialogue meshed, but the extra time between the action, the various descriptions of daily life tended to slow the pace. Even with the pace issue I couldn’t put the book down. I wanted to know what would happen to Lucy, the love triangle she’s forced into, the secrets being told and kept around her, and the past her father is trying to hide.

There’s a ton of awesome adventure in this story that appeals to the comic book, freak loving person that I am. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone seeking a new challenge into Urban Fantasy or looking for a new adult book that doesn’t deal with paranormal aspects (Shifter, Werewolf, Vampire, etc.).

P.S. If you follow the Indies Newsletter, then I’m happy to inform you that Lucy and The Gifted get a Grade A- when ran up against Mari’s Urban Fantasy Rants. 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lexcade
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 16:32:08

    XD It’s nice to get one that does hold up against Mari’s list. Sounds like a good read. Gonna have to check it out.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Books! So Many Free Books! | Indie Books R Us
  3. Trackback: Contest Winners! | Indie Books R Us

Leave a Reply

