A Writer’s Gratitude – Donna Cummings

Welcome Page PhotoSome days it feels like there is nothing but an endless supply of things to do, and an even longer list of things that aren’t getting done. Add in all the writing things that need doing–and nowhere near enough time to accomplish them–and it’s easy to sink into a woe-filled pit of despair.

There are blog posts, and blog hops, and blog tours. There is a constant stream of social media to tend to, with new ones being born every minute. There are edits and revisions and outlines and synopses and brainstorming. New stories must be written. Sales statistics must be checked, constantly, in case I accidentally slip onto a bestseller list without knowing it.

Oh, and did I forget to eat today? There may not be time to sleep either. They probably want me to show up at the day job too.

A recent day like this made me realize I needed to revamp my mindset. Instead of bemoaning all the writing things on my list, I decided to relish those items. I chose to be grateful for many things that could easily be characterized as burdens. This change in POV doesn’t always lighten the workload, but it does make it easier to carry around.

So here are just a few of the things I’m grateful for today:

  1. People who read my blogs — Some months I have lots of blog posts to do, for my own blog, and as a guest. It can be tough to think of a new topic, or a twist on an old topic. It’s easier to flop onto the couch and whine about having too many things to write. But, I’ve waited a long time for this: people willing to read what I have to say. It’s delightful when people read my musings and comment on it and engage with me. Even better is when they say I’ve inspired them. How could I not be grateful for all these bloggish opportunities?
  2. People who read my books — I am thrilled that people read my books. Thrilled. When I first started writing, it was agonizing to have someone read my books. Heck, it might have been agonizing for them too. But I get excited when I see ratings and reviews of my stories on Amazon and book reviewers’ blogs. I’m giddy each time someone tells me via email or Twitter how much they enjoyed my stories. Okay, I even get a charge out of seeing my book listed as “currently reading” on Goodreads. Back in the olden days, there was no way of really knowing that someone was reading your book, but now you can see updates on Twitter and Goodreads, and it’s fun to be part of the reader’s experience as they turn the pages.
  3. People who read my tweets — I’ve met so many great friends through Twitter, and we manage to find each other in other places too, such as Goodreads and Facebook and Pinterest, making the internet seem like a nice cozy neighborhood. I’m glad that people not only indulge my barrage of coffee-related silliness, but tell me how much they look forward to it. When my muse disappears in a puff of acrid smoke, taking with her the joy of putting words to paper, it’s wonderful to turn to online friends who make me smile and re-invigorate my writing.
  4. People who read but don’t enjoy my books — I’m also grateful for people who have read one of my books and discovered it was only so-so, or not to their liking. I wish it had been a better reading experience for them, but I truly appreciate them taking a chance on a book and author they knew nothing about beforehand. Hopefully they saw something that might convince them to take another look with a future story of mine.
  5. People who have read this far — Thank you for letting me express my gratitude, on a day when I needed to remind myself there is much to be thankful for. I’m very lucky to be a writer, especially in a time when there are so many outlets for expressing my thoughts, worries, fears, words, stories, and all of the other creative jumble that exists in my brain. Writing is an urge that I wasn’t sure I’d ever get to explore, and I’m still amazed that I get to do this on a daily basis.

Many thanks to the wonderful ladies at Indie Books R Us for having me as a guest!
Always a pleasure, Donna!

 

About Donna:

I have worked as an attorney, winery tasting room manager, and retail business owner, but nothing beats the thrill of writing humorously-ever-after romances.

I reside in New England, although I fantasize about spending the rest of my days in a tropical locale, wearing flip flops year-round, or in Regency London, scandalizing the ton.

Back on Track, my contemporary novella set on the Napa Wine Train, released last month from Samhain. Also available is I Do. . . or Die, a romantic comedy/mystery, Summer Lovinโ€™, a free romantic comedy novella, and Lord Midnight, a Regency historical romance.

ย 

Links:

Website/blog: www.AllAboutTheWriting.com

Twitter: www.twitter.com/BookEmDonna

Facebook: www.facebook.com/Donna.Cummings.Author

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5349107.Donna_Cummings

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/bookemdonna

Buy links:

Amazon:ย  http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B006PJH9A4

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/c/donna-cummings

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/donna-cummings/id485645201

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lexcade
    May 23, 2013 @ 12:52:44

    This is such a lovely post. Thank you, Donna!

    Reply

  2. Mae Clair
    May 23, 2013 @ 13:40:00

    I just love your posts! They’re just so…..well, relate-able! I find myself nodding as I read along because, once again, you’ve hit the nail on the head. Thanks for another great post and a fresh perspective on what to remember when we’re feeling overwhelmed.

    BTW, I love your coffee silliness ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  3. Donna Cummings
    May 23, 2013 @ 14:23:34

    Thanks, Mae — I’m glad you find them relate-able. ๐Ÿ™‚ Sometimes I worry that I’m the only one who thinks the things I do. LOL And thanks for indulging my coffee silliness. My coffee cup thanks you too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

