The Author’s Journey – Donna Cummings

This week, Lord Midnight author Donna Cummings is gracing our blog with her presence once again! This time, she’s sharing with us her author journey. Thank you for your post, Donna!

If you missed the Lord Midnight review, check it out here, and her author interview here.

The Author’s Journey

For anyone who has been on the author’s journey for a little while, it’s comforting to think it’s always going to be a straight shot, and that you actually know where you’re going. But it’s a comfort only because it’s a delusion. Whatever you know about writing or the writing journey is based on someplace you’ve been, not where you’re headed.

You change as a writer with every book you write. So it makes sense that the path you’ll take is going to morph as your writing abilities grow and improve. Also, every “next book” we write is always going to be slightly outside our skill set. Even though we’ve just added to our resumé and repertoire by writing that last book–the one that stretched us way beyond our comfort zone, leaving us half-dead on the side of the road–we won’t be writing that book anymore. We have to accept the fact that we never really know how to write the book we’re writing–until we’re done writing it.

The other thing I’ve learned about the author’s journey — and let me stress that I have resisted learning this — oh boy, did I resist: this is a journey without an end goal.

Now, before you start wailing because you’re envisioning a football field that goes into infinity, with no goal posts. . .well, that’s kind of what I’m talking about. Those yard markers are the real goal. They represent what we’re trying to reach when we talk about getting published, or getting an agent, or hitting a bestseller list. It’s important that we celebrate each and every one of these awesome achievements.

But we have to remember they are “a” goal. Not “the” goal. Because if we’re writers, “the” goal is to keep writing, no matter what. No matter if we get bad reviews, or editor rejections, or a story idea that kicks us in the groin every time we try to whip it into shape. “The” goal is to keep putting words down, yanking them back out, figuring out where they really belong, and polishing them until the gleam of that awesome story brings tears of joy to a reader’s eyes.

Now, I know it’s not easy to accept that we’re on a trip that has no real destination. We’re writers, and we’re used to having a beginning, a middle, and an end. What I’m saying sounds like there’s just middle, endless days and days of middle, without the bookends of a beginning or end.

But instead of being discouraged by that, it’s actually kind of liberating. We can continue jotting down every story idea that comes to us. There’s never going to be a time when a proctor says, “Put down your pencils”. We get to decide when we’ve accumulated enough writing goal markers along the way.

At least once a month I’m convinced I’m done writing. I tell myself it’s not worth the time and effort I put into it. I want to have a life that doesn’t include writing, or at least one where I don’t have to feel guilty about not writing, or despairing about how to get a written story to match the perfect one in my imagination.

When I have these thoughts, it’s usually because I have a specific end goal in mind, and I’ve just plowed into it face-first. I’ve practically garroted myself by flying into that goal line that has no business being there. But since my mind has installed it, stopping me from moving forward, I have to sit down and re-evaluate. This is not when I want to gauge how far I’ve got to go. No, this is when it’s important to look back, to see where I’ve been and how far I’ve come.

It doesn’t take too long on that jaunt down memory lane before I get antsy. Quit writing? What was I thinking? I just needed a little R&R, a reminder that I felt this same way with the last book, and the one before that. And then I’m off on another new adventure. . . one without any kind of final goal to impede my progress.

That’s what the author’s journey is really all about.

Bio: I have worked as an attorney, winery tasting room manager, and retail business owner, but nothing beats the thrill of writing humorously-ever-after romances. I reside in New England, although I fantasize about spending the rest of my days in a tropical locale, wearing flip flops year-round, or in Regency London, scandalizing the ton. In addition to my current release, I Do. . .or Die, a romantic comedy/mystery, my available books are Summer Lovin’, a free romantic comedy novella, and Lord Midnight, a Regency romance. My contemporary novella, Back on Track, part of the Strangers on a Train collection, will release from Samhain on April 2, 2013.

Links:

Website/blog: http://www.AllAboutTheWriting.com

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/@BookEmDonna

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Donna.Cummings.Author

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5349107.Donna_Cummings

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/bookemdonna

https://indiebooksrus.files.wordpress.com/2012/09/midnight_250x375.jpg?w=200&h=300

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa
    Feb 18, 2013 @ 10:50:15

    Hi Donna! I love your thoughtful post. It’s true, many of the times I’ve stopped writing, or convinced myself this is not for me, is when I’ve had my sights locked on the end goal. And, of course, the book is perfect at the end goal…at least in my imagination! No wonder I get the feeling I’m making it less perfect each time I add words or take them away.

    But you’re right, thinking of the end goal as “one of” but not “the” goal takes off some pressure. We writers do tend to put pressure on ourselves without even knowing how we did it, don’t we! LOL

    Reply

    • Donna Cummings
      Feb 23, 2013 @ 09:35:03

      Melissa, that end goal can be troublesome. It’s good to have *something* in sight when we start out, or we’d run around in circles rather than moving forward. LOL And yes we DO put a lot of pressure on ourselves, especially about making things perfect. Yikes! It’s a wonder any books get written!

      Reply

  2. Mae Clair
    Feb 18, 2013 @ 12:57:12

    What an awesome view of a writer’s journey! I kept nodding agreement throughout, then hit the part where you said at least once a month you hit a point where you’re convinced you’re done writing. That’s when my muse shrieked “See! We’re not the only one.”

    It isn’t so much that I think I’m done with writing just that I get worn down thinking I’m not doing enough (writing enough, promoting enough, learning enough, seeking opportunities enough, yadda, yadda, yadda). No, I won’t stop writing but, sometimes like you said, a bit of R&R is needed. It also gets the creativity recharged again.

    Congrats on Lord Midnight. I loved the book! 🙂

    Reply

    • Donna Cummings
      Feb 23, 2013 @ 09:39:21

      Mae, I’m letting my muse Endora know that we’ve got company on this journey! (She shrieks too — oh boy does she shriek. LOL)

      The “not enough” syndrome wears me down too. I should probably write a post about that. LOL A creativity R&R always helps, along with not making ourselves think we’ve got to achieve a touchdown on every single play. 🙂

      And thanks so much for the Lord Midnight love!

      Reply

  3. ~RoseAnderson
    Feb 25, 2013 @ 17:54:53

    Interesting post Donna. I found myself nodding too. 🙂 Best luck.

    Rose

    Reply

  4. Isabella
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 03:20:26

    Appreciating the commitment you put into your website and detailed information you offer.
    It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same
    old rehashed material. Wonderful read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS
    feeds to my Google account.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

