Author Interview: Keir- Pippa Jay

Keir Pippa  Jay GreenFun times and Sci-fi are what you get with Pippa Jay, when she’s not stuck to her computer writing away at her next story. Luckily, I snagged her at a good time and was able to get some answers to those crazy questions I thought of after reading through Keir.

1.) The whole book I thought the Sentiac was the bad guy (cue villain spooky voice) instead I was introduced to another big baddy– Siah-dhu. My question who do you think would win a all out fight villain against villain? 
Oh, interesting – I hadn’t thought about that! Since the Siah-dhu are pretty much the ultimate evil in my Universe, I think they’d win. But you can never tell… (bwah-ha-haaaa!)

2.) Quin and Keir are connected because of the Sentiac and we discover why in the book, but I wondered continuously if all of Quin’s friends were connected to the Sentiac in some way? 
Indirectly you could say that, because Quin’s obviously met them during her travels. But none of the ones you’ve met so far have the Sentiac DNA.

3.) You introduce a ton of species from Bird/Human hybrids to Reptilian’s. Where did some of these ideas spawn and is there any plan for a book that will guide us through the Pippa Jay universe? 
Oh, the ideas come from all over the place! The avian Surei was inspired by the Hawk people from Buck Rogers and the lead singer from my fave band, who wears feathers in his hair. My Metraxians – I have a soft spot for reptiles, and I feel reptilian races in scifi often get a bad rep (Silurians in Doctor Who, Zorgons in Zathura, the Visitors in V etc). So I wanted mine as (mostly) good guys. My haemovores are probably from reading too much Anne Rice in my teens. I’m working on more books in the same Universe which explore those other races, and there’s a glossary on my blog here – http://pippajay.blogspot.co.uk/p/travellers-guide-to-universe.html
– which will give also give you a little sneak peek at some other things to come. Which reminds me I should update it soon! *adds to towering to-do list*

4.) For the romance readers, or those who love Sci-fi but shy from the romance, what is your definition of Sweet Romance as it relates to Keir? 
Although the romance is an important part of the story, it doesn’t dominate it. Sweet for me means it’s intense but my characters aren’t spending all their time getting it on with lots of explicit scenes.  

5.) You recently had a short story published, Terms & Conditions Apply, can you tells us more about it and does it relate to Keir and Quin’s Universe at all? 
I wrote Terms & Conditions Apply for a sub call by Misa Buckley that sadly never came to pass, but she gave me permission to use the premise. It’s a hot scifi romance short, totally unrelated to the Keir and Quin Universe. In a way it’s a tragedy, yet it does have a HEA, even if a controversial one. Writing it was a personal challenge – to do something far spicier, and away from the comfort zone of my own created Universe!

Bonus Question: Will there be a story about Sky and/or Taler?
Wow, that’s spooky! I do have a story about them in progress, though I can’t give you any idea about a completion date right now. I’m planning to do a series of Origin stories for some of my secondary characters as time goes by – the first has just gone to my editor. But Taler and Sky both feature in my upcoming June release Gethyon.

A stay-at-home mum of three who spent twelve years working as an Analytical Chemist in a Metals and Minerals laboratory, Pippa Jay bases her stories on a lifetime addiction to science-fiction books and films. Somewhere along the line a touch of romance crept into her work and refused to leave. In between torturing her various characters, she spends the odd free moments trying to learn guitar, indulging in freestyle street dance and drinking high-caffeine coffee. Although happily settled in historical Colchester in the UK with her husband of 19 years, she continues to roam the rest of the Universe in her head.

Get a copy of Keir at:

Lyrical Press Inc

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Barnes & Noble

Kobo

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pippajay
    Feb 03, 2013 @ 09:17:44

    Thanks for having me, Landra, and for asking such interesting questions. 🙂

    Reply

  2. karen Y. bynum
    Feb 03, 2013 @ 14:32:46

    Great interview! Always fun to learn something new about you, Pippa. Congrats on the success of Keir and Terms & Conditions Apply! 🙂

    Reply

  3. lexcade
    Feb 03, 2013 @ 14:39:19

    Fantastic interview, Pip! We loved having you on the blog! Hope to see you back 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

