Interview: Jenn Leblanc

Jenn LeblancMany of you may remember Jenn Leblanc, author of The Rake and the Recluse from her week here on IBRU last March. If you need a refresher, check out Landra’s review, my review, and Jenn’s interview.

Just in case you missed it, Jenn is not only a talented wordsmith, but she’s also the talented eye behind the lens. All photos in her book as well as the cover images are her work. We’ve got the scoop on her business, Studio Smexy, for you today!

1.) If I want exclusive rights to an image how expensive

One of Jenn's military covers

One of Jenn’s military covers

can that get? Is there any special hoops I need to jump through? 

Exclusives start at $400 and that pulls the set of images comprising the specific pose you choose. No special hoops, all images are available exclusively and I much prefer they sell that way, because then my authors all have original covers! 🙂 If someone is interested in an exclusive, they just email me from the image page and I can tell them if that image has sold as stock previously, and how many times, so they can decide whether they want to buy it as an exclusive. Of course I have many images that have not been sold for stock yet, and I have a few images that I’m not releasing to stock sales, like this one:
http://jennleblanc.photoshelter.com/image/I0000cdE9uVV1LAE
This one will go exclusive, so I’m holding out for that ONE special author to stumble upon it. 🙂
20120407-Romance-6-JKL_00502.) Do you design covers too or just provide the image we can use for the cover?
I have designed covers, I design all my own covers, and I’ve designed a few others, but I prefer not to. I prefer to shoot, that’s what I do best, and leave the design to the experts.
3.) What if I want something you don’t have on your site? Can I request it, and how much can that cost? 
Requests start at $75 for non-exclusive, non-extenuating images. Meaning, you can tell me you’d need something BDSM with a brunette man looking away from a blonde girl. I’ll work it into my next shoot (no deadlines) if it works? $75 for the image. Or $400 for the exclusive.
If there are specific props, poses, models, etc then those requests are the cost of an exclusive image (the image will be an exclusive). They will be shot at the next shoot as well. With the understanding that other poses from the shoot WILL be sold as stock.
If you need something incredible specific, I can quote that. Upwards of $1,000 for a fully exclusive one-image shoot.
4.) If you don’t create covers can you recommend anyone? 

I might write a book around this cover.

I might write a book around this cover.

ABSOLUTELY. My designers are amazing. I say my, but they’re all freelancers. These are some of my favorites (in no particular order:
 
5.) What if my book isn’t a romance? Can you take pictures for other genres?
I’ll take that on a case-by-case basis. I prefer the SMEXY.
🙂
20120208-TRUMBULL-JKL-475Speaking of smexy, my novel is what started all of this, Just FYI. These ladies know. *nods* The Rake And The Recluse is available on Amazon, Kobo, B&N, Smashwords and  iTunes
Amazon
Barnes And Noble
All Romance Ebooks
Itunes
Goodreads
Thanks for spending time with us again, Jenn! Always a pleasure to have you (and your *ahem* bodies of work) on the blog!
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. landragraf
    Jan 24, 2013 @ 00:36:40

    Jen you are awesome as always. Thanks for stopping by. I saw that exclusive image and immediately did a double take. I want it! Got a book in mind. Lol 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

